Parish Staff

Feel free to contact any of the following staff members with your questions, comments or concerns.

Fr. James P. Steffes Pastor Email 507-437-4537
Mary Gorman Administrative Assistant Email 507-437-4537
Rod Kollman Bookkeeper Email 507-437-4537
Kayla Burck Director of Catechesis Email 507-437-4537
Linda Hoeppner Director of Music Ministry Email 507-437-4537
Bob Morgan Maintenance 507-437-4537
Jeff Bawek Maintenance 507-437-4537
Vu Lee Maintenance 507-437-4537

St. Augustine – St. Edward Trustees

St. Augustine

Gregory Jahr

Beth Schwab

St. Edward

Mary Lang

Larry Pfeil

Canon law specifies that the pastor is entrusted with both the spiritual and temporal affairs of a parish; the bishop entrusts to him the pastoral care of that community. In doing so, he needs to operate in the secular world, as well. Thus, civil law requires that as a business or “corporation” each parish must have a Board of Directors, Trustees.

In a parish corporation, five members comprise the board of directors. By virtue of their office, the bishop, vicar general and pastor are automatic members of the corporation. The bishop is the president of the corporation, and the pastor is the vice president. In addition, two lay members of the parish — called trustees — are appointed by the bishop to serve as treasurer and secretary. The trustees are the members and officers of the civil corporation registered with the state. Their role fulfills civil statute requirements: responsibility toward legal concerns, fiduciary issues, and asset entrustment.

Trustees need to interact with the Finance and Pastoral Councils of a parish since neither of these entities has legal or administrative decision authority as the Trustees do; theirs is advisory.  Trustees typically serve for two years or until their successors are appointed.